Stopping by…

20121229-095000.jpg

We had family pictures taken over Thanksgiving. While I often dislike pictures of myself, I love these. Sadly, they’re the first “official” family pictures we’ve had since Daniel and Nathan were 5 and 4.

Christmas vacation or not, life has been busy. Lots going on, little time to write about it.

After my hellish run with Luke, Bob, and Christina, I promised to get to the dr and get my hip figured out. I didn’t actually do that, but I did go running at Lost Valley with Patrick, Chuck, and Val. Not the best decision, since my hip was a little achy when I got up, but I figured I’d just run 5 or 6 and then wait while they finished up 12.

Um…yeah, that didn’t happen. I ran 9.5 wonderful miles and then limped through the last 3. Darn loop routes. šŸ™‚ But…Val and Patrick told me about a couple of stretches that seem to have really helped, and it was my first double-digit run since early Nov.

I’ve spent a couple hours biking our local singletrack, once with Patrick and once with my sister-in-law. I think my last time mountain biking was back in September, so it was really fun to get out on the trails again. Our trails are pretty tame, but I’m finally feeling a little more confident on them. Yea!

I made it back out to Marquette Park to play tour guide of the Pere Marquette race route. Even running a relaxed pace and stopping to clear downed branches from the trail our time was only 10 min off my race time, and I felt MUCH better than I did at the race. Yea again.

20121229-101657.jpg

We had all the boys with us for Christmas morning, which was wonderful. Usually we alternate where the older boys are for Christmas (us or their dad), but this year they worked it out so they could be everywhere.

Santa was very good to us. My gifts had a definite fitness theme, and I’m particularly excited about my new headlamp. Hopefully it means far fewer tears on nighttime singletrack rides. šŸ™‚

20121229-101609.jpg

Nathan moves into his dorm next week, which is sad and exciting. Hopefully he learned his lesson when he barely squeaked out of high school so college is a smoother process.

A couple weeks ago I was featured on my friend Patrick’s blog “Who Is…” series, where he’s gotten his adventure-minded friends to write about themselves. You can check out Who Is…SuperKate as well as read about people living much bigger adventures. The beauty of adventure, though, is it doesn’t always have to come packaged in an epic expedition. Sometimes it’s just taking a different way across the hillside.

20121229-103315.jpg

I’m hoping to eventually get together a year in review type of post, but for now I’m really just looking forward to what the next year has in store. January is starting things off with a bang with literally every single weekend full of blogworthy fun. I can’t wait! šŸ™‚

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

