Book review and giveaway: Race Across the Sky

I do a lot of reading during my summers, so I was happy to oblige when TLC book tours emailed and asked me to review Race Across the Sky, which just hit the stands.  Even better? I get to give away three copies of the book.  We all win! Well…at least four of us.

Race Across the Sky is the story of two estranged brothers who are reconnected through their quest to save a baby’s life.  Caleb has virtually cut off contact with his family, spending the past decade within the cult-like confines of the Happy Trails Running Club as he trains for and races with increasing success in ultras such as the Hardrock 100.  His rigid adherence to the club’s structure is challenged when he falls in love with a new member, and his desire to find a cure for her infant daughter’s fatal disease spurs him to ask his younger brother for help.  A rising star at a biotech company, Shane uncovers a possible solution and then learns the answer is much more complicated and risky than he had imagined.

Weaving story lines about ultrarunning, biotechnology, family, medical ethics, and the strange world of the running club, Race Across the Sky is full of interesting characters and situations.  The book kept me involved and guessing until the end.  Coincidentally, I finished Scott Jurek’s Eat and Run just before Race Across the Sky arrived. Already immersed in the world of ultrarunning, it was very cool to move from nonfiction to fiction and read about some of the same races.  If you’re interested in running or biotech or just like a good suspenseful thriller, you’ll enjoy Race Across the Sky.  



For more information, check out the book’s website raceacrosstheskynovel.com.



To enter the giveaway, just comment below and let me know you’d like to win.  I’ll randomly pick three winners on Friday, August 2. Good luck!

This entry was posted in Book review, Giveaways and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book review and giveaway: Race Across the Sky

  1. Chad says:

    I’ll enter for my wife. She’d read the S#!+ outta a book like that.

    I’d like to say I’d read it too…but…heck, who has time to read?
    (I did just finish an audio book…which I can do while riding and running)

  2. Patrick says:

    I want to win that book so I can give it away too!

Leave a Reply

