Somewhere to rest my weary head

Cabins, campsites, bear warnings, lovely lodges, sketchy discount hotel bookings, and spots mooched in the guest bedrooms of family and friends.  Almost exactly a month ago we set off on a cross-country road trip with an end-destination of San Diego and several intermediate stops planned to break up the drive; thirteen days and 4,700 miles later we were back home. It’s taken me nearly a month to get around to even starting to write up, well, anything, but I’m finally getting started with a post about all of the different places we stayed on our trip.  Suffice it to say that my major procrastination (we left on a Thursday and I started making reservations on that Monday) didn’t stop us from sleeping in some pretty awesome spots.  Like this one…

IMG_2250

Obviously we survived our night(s) in bear territory.  If you want to hear about some of our other stops, check out the link above.

This entry was posted in Family time, Miscellany, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Somewhere to rest my weary head

  1. Haha I live in Colorado and also blog but some people don’t get the bear thing. They are seriously all around my neighborhood so seeing this made me smile. Glad to hear it went well and thanks for sharing!

    • Kate says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂 Illinois is pretty, but it’s sure no Colorado. You have a beautiful state! Our neighborhood is heavy on skunks….I think I might prefer the bears. 🙂

Leave a comment